Issue 82 — March 2016

Apex Magazine Issue 82Apex Magazine is a monthly science fiction, fantasy, and horror magazine featuring original, mind-bending short fiction from many of the top pros of the field. New issues are released the first Tuesday of every month.

Words from the Editor-in-Chief by Jason Sizemore
Agent of V.A.L.I.S. by Lavie Tidhar (Novelette)
Naked by Anne Neugebauer (Poetry)

Screaming Without a Mouth by Travis Heermann (Short Story)
Interview with Travis Heermann by Andrea Johnson
Allegory of the Woman from Earth by Rodney Gomez (Poetry)

Death Flowers of Never-Forgotten Love by Jason Sanford (Short Story)
BlackRiver by Caleb J. Oakes (Poetry)

Dolly by Elizabeth Bear (Reprint)
Chimney Witch by Matthew Chamberlin (Poetry)

The Sword Excalibur by David Barber (Poetry)
Interview with Vincent Sammy, Cover Artist by Russell Dickerson (March 31st)

Podcast Fiction
Download Podcast #33 (“Death Flowers of a Never-Forgotten Love” by Jason Sanford) or listen using the player below. (13:11 in length)

Cover art by Vincent Sammy.

About the Artist

image026Vincent Sammy is the 2016 cover artist for Black Static, and his artwork has been featured in publications such as Beware the Dark and Something Wicked. His art has appeared in the movies Chronicle and Tiger House, and he has been nominated for an “Artist of the Year” award by the This Is Horror Awards for 2012 and 2013.

He has published three issues of his hybrid-codex magazine Echo Gear, a combination of illustration, sequential art, magazine design and layout, and prose/poetry. Visit his gallery of works at

Apex Magazine Issue 83 Preview

Next month in Apex Magazine, we will have original fiction by Andrew Neil Grey (“The Laura Ingalls Experience”) and Brandon H. Bell (“The Teratologists Brother”). Our poetry is by John Yu Branscum, Michael VanCalbergh, Jeremy Paden, and Craig Finlay. Our reprint is a novelette by Catherynne M. Valente (“The Quidnux”). Cover art will be by Sarah Zar. Look for this and more in Apex Magazine issue 83, coming in April, 2016.